Reckless Driving and Speed Exhibition are both misdemeanors in California, and they are defined in California Vehicle Code (VC) section 23103 and 23109. Research the Law. Many prosecutors and police officers believe these crimes occur whenever the tires on a vehicle screech and the car accelerates, and many officers will add a “Speed Exhibition” or “Reckless Driving” charge to a simple speeding ticket, especially if the officer believes your demeanor is defiant or argumentative.
Exhibition of Speed & Speed Contest
VC 23109(c) is commonly referred to as “Exhibition of Speed.” To prove this charge, the prosecutor must prove that you drove a motor vehicle, and while you were driving you accelerated or drove at a rate of speed that was dangerous and unsafe, in order to show off or make an impression on someone else.
You can also be charged with engaging in a speed contest. A “Speed Contest” is defined as using a motor vehicle to race against another vehicle or a clock.
If you are convicted of engaging in a Speed Contest or Exhibition of Speed, you can be punished by imprisonment in jail for not less than 24 hours nor more than 90 days, or by a fine of not less than three hundred fifty-five dollars ($355) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment. You will also be required to perform 40 hours of community service.
California Vehicle Code Section 23103 is commonly referred to as a “Reckless Driving,” and it is often confused with Exhibition of Speed. To prove a Reckless Driving charge, the prosecutor must prove that you drove a vehicle and that you intentionally drove with “wanton disregard” for the safety of persons or property. In other words, that your driving was dangerous to someone else or their property. If you are convicted of VC 23103 you can be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than 90 days, by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or by both that fine and imprisonment.
If you are convicted of violating VC 23103 or 23109, the Court will send proof of your conviction to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and the DMV will put two “points” on your driving record. This will cause your insurance rates to increase, and if you get four points during a one year period; six points within a two year period; or eight points within a three year period you will be labeled a “Negligent Operator” and you can lose your license to drive. The Judge can also suspend your license to drive if he or she believes the facts in your case warrant it.
Fight Your Case
If you are charged with violating VC 23103 or 23109 call us immediately at (530) 898-1111 and schedule a Free Consultation to discuss your options and whether you should fight your case or argue for a lesser charge – a conviction for Exhibition of Speed or Reckless Driving can have a severe impact on your liberty, your wallet, and your driving record.
NOTICE AND DISCLAIMER: The information on Chicolawyers.com is not legal advice and is intended only for informational purposes. Sending information or questions by phone, email, fax, letter, or in any other form to Chicolawyers.com, or any Attorney listed on this website, does not establish an Attorney-Client relationship under any circumstances. An Attorney-Client relationship with any of the Lawyers listed on Chicolawyers.com can only be established by the express invitation of the Lawyer to the prospective Client, and after the completion of a written contract. No one should hire a Lawyer based solely on a visit to a website or any other form of advertisement, and websites or other advertisements should not be used as a substitute for competent legal advice from a licensed professional Attorney.
LEGAL ADVERTISEMENT AND SOLICITATION FOR ATTORNEY SERVICES